A graduate of the Faculty of Law and Administration of the University of Warsaw (1972).

From 1972 to 1986, he worked in Płock, among other things, at the National Bank of Poland, the Branch in Płock, at the Town Hall, also as legal counsel in the Tax Chamber. In 1990-1991, he organized the local government structures in the Płockie Voivodeship, as a Representative of the Government Plenipotentiary for Local Government Reform. From 1992 to 1997 he worked in the Supreme Audit Office (NIK) as director of the NIK Branch Office in Warsaw, Finance and Budget Team, and State Budget Department. In 1997-2000, he was a member and then President of the Management Board of Srebrna, a company with its registered office in Warsaw. He was a member of the Supervisory Board of Bank Ochrony Środowiska S.A. in 1998-2000. From September 2000 to July 2001 he was Undersecretary of State at the Ministry of Justice. In 2006-2007, he was Minister of the State Treasury.

Since 2001, he has been a member of the Polish Parliament (during the 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th terms) where he was Chairman of the Standing Subcommittee for the Banking System and Monetary Policy, Chairman of the Economy Committee, and Chairman of the Public Finance Committee. He was also a member of the State Treasury Committee in the Sejm.

President of the Management Board of PKN ORLEN S.A. from 16 December 2015 to 5 February 2018. From June 2018 to July 2019 – plenipotentiary of the Management Board of Energa S.A. for the development of investments and energy markets.

Since 5 March 2020, Chair of the Supervisory Board of PKN ORLEN S.A.

Dependent Member of the Supervisory Board